Ricky Martin: Proud to be gay

By Kaitlin MacRae

What I – including many others – have long suspected has been confirmed today by the man himself: Latino singer Ricky Martin is gay.

Martin, 38, decided to go public with this bit of personal information while writing his memoirs. The Puerto Rico native became a father via surrogate of twin boys in 2008.

He addressed the years of speculation on his official Web site, saying “These years in silence and reflection made me stronger and reminded me that acceptance has to come from within and that this kind of truth gives me the power to conquer emotions I didn’t even know existed…”

He went on to say that he is a “fortunate homosexual man.”

Martin is most known for hits like “Livin’ La Vida Loca,” and “She Bangs.”

I personally don’t believe this to be such shocking news, so I doubt this proclamation will negatively impact him in any way. Martin’s sexuality has long been debated, and although it truly is nobody’s business, this fact lies in the public interest. Martin’s fans will either be relieved to finally know the truth, or hurt that he kept the truth from them for so long.

~ by buzzbehindthebeat on April 2, 2010.

3 Responses to “Ricky Martin: Proud to be gay”

  1. I didn’t understand the start of the blog entry, I was confused. I love the links that are in the entry and how hovering over the links shows an image of where the link goes. The entry was too short and I feel with such a large scale story there are more things that could be expanded on like why he waited till now? why did he do it on a blog? The picture was great and added humor and caught my attention.

  2. I liked the beginning of the post. I thought I was funny and basically what everyone was thinking when this news came out (no pun intended…) I do think the post could have been a little bit longer, but I completely understand that you probably did not have access to all of this information (I don’t think anyone really does right now). I really liked your opinion towards the end. Your voice really came through.

  3. I also really liked the links you attached to this post… clearly you are not surprised by the news, I wasn’t either. But I appreciated that you pointed out that no matter what the debate over someone’s sexuality is, it is not anyone’s business. I find it funny to be “coming out” in the open so late after his big hits– which you mentioned but didn’t include that they were on top of the charts way back in 1999. Therefore, I appreciated the somewhat sarcastic tone you took. Good post!

Leave a Reply

 
