Jared Cotter: American Idol Season 6

 

Jared Cotter, origionally from Kew Gardens, N.Y, was the 16th finaliast on American Idol Season 6. He currently writes music, models and continues to work on his singing career. This interview was conducted through e-mail.

By: Courtney Khan

Courtney Khan (CK): When did you know you wanted to become a singer/performer?

Jared Cotter (JC): Growing up everyone in my family could sing, so I thought everyone could. But when I noticed in elementary school that I stood out a bit I really liked that feeling and wanted to do it forever.

CK: What drove you to try out for American Idol Season 6?

JC: It was honestly my mom that pushed me to go. I was waiting tables and really ready to give up. American Idol was just another audition but this time it worked out.

CK: How did you feel when you got your audition for American Idol and what song did you perform?

JC: I was very nervous! But I got through it, I sand “Lately” by Stevie Wonder.

CK: What kind of self-promotion were you doing before American Idol?

JC: I was performing everywhere I could and trying to do anything I could to be noticed. Open Mics, auditions, open-calls as a model. WHATEVER I could do.

CK: How do you promote yourself now and what type of public relations do you engage in to keep active in the entertainment industry?

JC: Now it’s a bit easier because I have managers and PR people J. I’m a correspondent for Good Day NY to talk about American Idol, I was a host on Fuse, I’m currently the host of the Challenge on MSG Varsity, and just recently signed a publishing deal after writing the #1 hit “Down” for singer Jay Sean. Keeping busy but I’m very happy.

CK: What is the most memorable moment you have thinking back from 2007 until now?

JC: I get to do a lot of cool things. Obviously being on American Idols tops the list but I’ve gotten to interview my favorite celebrities on Fuse and work with kids on the Challenge, but honestly the coolest thing for me has been to see Jay Sean perform “Down” which we wrote together at Madison Square Garden and everyone in there knew the words. Surreal Experience.

CK: What has been the biggest change in your life since you tried out for the show?

JC: Money! Haha, it’s good to get paid for what you do. Honestly my life is on the road to where I’ve always wanted it to be. So I’m just gonna keep drivin down this road until I’ve accomplished everything I’ve wanted.

~ by buzzbehindthebeat on April 15, 2010.

One Response to “Jared Cotter: American Idol Season 6”

  1. I don’t watch American Idol so I don’t really know who this person is. Maybe you could add a small intro to this post. Other than that, it is a really good Q&A and it’s cool that you had the opportunity to interview him!

Leave a Reply

 
